Student Spotlight: Maggie Boswell

Introducing our new student spotlight series! This will occur every week so you can get to know the faces of A Cappella Choir!

1. What is your school year, major and career goals?

I’m a sophomore, my major is Music Composition, and I hope to continue on to graduate school to study different styles of music and possibly further composition studies.

2. How did you end up at Samford?

Although I’m originally from Maryland, my extended family all resides in Alabama and my parents both attended and graduated from University of Alabama. The biggest deciding factor in choosing Samford had to do with the community I felt at my audition and the opportunity to study composition and work with Dr. Davis.

3. What is your A Cappella Choir story?

Prior to A Cappella I was in University Chorale for three semesters which I enjoyed immensely, but I was also so interested and enthralled by the repertoire of A Cappella and the chance to be a part of such a dedicated and high quality group of singers. Especially for composition, being able to dig into the scores and emotion of the pieces in rehearsals and performances is an amazing experience.

4. What is your favorite memory so far in the A Cappella Choir?

Although there have already been so many memorable experiences so far, I think my favorite memory as of now is being a part of the first Vespers service this semester. I’ve attended all the services since freshman year and was always blown away by the choir and hoped I could one day be a part of such a special service. Being able to be on the other side and to be a part of creating inspired and beautiful music will definitely never get old.

5. What is your favorite piece we’ve sung?

I think it’s an even tie between “Precious Lord” and “Memento Mei, Domine.” But there are also strong moments in each piece we have sung so far that I really love and connect with.

Thanks, Maggie! To follow Maggie’s success as a composition major, find her on Twitter at @Baggie_Moswell

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset