Student Spotlight: Chase Cunningham

Here we are….week two of student spotlights! Meet graduating senior Chase Cunningham:

1. What is your school year, major and career goals?

Senior journalism and mass communication major with a print concentration and music minor. Entering law school next fall.

2. How did you end up at Samford?

I met a Samford recruitment representative my freshman year of high school. I visited the university that same year while driving through Birmingham with my family. I was immediately attracted to the campus, faculty and city. Four years later, I was enrolled and attending.

3. What is your A Cappella Choir story?

The A Cappella Choir is a large part of why I came to Samford. During my first visit to campus, I met Dr. Copeland and sat through a rehearsal. As a singer but non-music major, this choir was one of the best choral opportunities available to me as I entered college, since the entire student body is able to audition. In my first few minutes as a member of AC, I was swept away by the caliber of musical performance as well as the friendship among its members. For the past four years, this choir has introduced me to some of my closest friends, allowed me to travel the world and presented to me some of the best choral literature that has been written.

4. What is your favorite memory so far during your time in the A Cappella Choir?

There are so many! During the summer of 2012, the A Cappella Choir traveled to France for a tour and competition in Tours, France. It was my first year with the choir. I have never experienced a moment or emotion quite like the one when we left the stage in Tours for the final time. It was our last major performance with many of our seniors, and we all knew that we had just delivered our absolute best on stage. It was a fantastic cadence of an entire year’s work.

5. What is your favorite song from A Cappella Choir so far?

Picking just one is almost impossible, but I’ll go with John Tavener’s “Song for Athene.”
Thanks, Chase! To follow Chase’s journey, follow him at @chasecunningham.

10891938_10152635361917989_2589413489300421780_n

Leave a comment