Student Spotlight: Shelby Terrell

Today we welcome freshman Shelby Terrell to the website!

1. What is your school year, major/minor and career goals?

This is my freshman year, I’m a musical theatre major, and Ideally I would love to move to New York and be on Broadway but honestly I just want to perform for the rest of my life and I’ll be happy!
2. How did you end up at Samford?

I came to see some family friends in Step Sing my junior year and decided that while I was here I might as well our the campus! I fell in love with the school and the people during that visit and I knew Samford was the place for me!
3. What is your A Cappella Choir story?

Well this summer before school started, fellow freshman A Cappella member Josh Smith and I were talking and he told me about the Samford A Cappella Choir and suggested I audition. And so I got in contact with Dr. Copeland and came to audition for him in July! It was a super spur of the moment thing but I’m so thankful to be in this choir because it’s where I’ve made some of my best friends.
4. What is your favorite memory so far during your time in the A Cappella Choir?

My favorite memory from choir so far was during choir camp when a huge group of us did the ice bucket challenge and then went around swimming in every fountain on campus. We ended up all sitting in a circle in the fountain in front of the theatre building and we sang a song. It was just so fun and such a memorable experience.
5. What is your favorite song from A Cappella Choir so far?

My favorite song that the choir has sung this year would probably have to be “Song for Athene” or “Precious Lord.” I’m completely torn between the two. They’re very different styles but I feel like I really connected with both songs on an emotional level. I think that as a choir we were really able to convey the text to those listening and we were able to make an impact on everyone sitting in those Vespers services!

To keep up with Shelby’s adventures, follow her at @shelbyterrell

IMG_2283

Leave a comment