Alumni Spotlight: Crystal Briley Scroggs

Today we meet Chrystal Briley Scroggs!

Crystal graduated from Samford in 2003. Her favorite song was Bach Motet “Lobet den hern” and she is a music teacher at a private Christian day school for Pre-K to 10th grade in Charlotte, NC. She also keeps a very busy private music studio for voice and piano lessons.

In Crystal’s words: “My parents were alumni of A Cappella with Dr. Black… I grew up hearing about AC and all the traditions they had passed down. I looked forward to spending my time at Samford with that group of people. It was my family while at Samford. Under Dr. Price’s leadership we all gained a deeper understanding of the Lord, musicality, and unity. He was able to transition the choir into a new place of community and we all loved him for it! He was known for his sock feet in rehearsal and always referred to his Mickey Mouse watch at the close of rehearsal. He had his own made up language that he would show off at camp entertainment times– that was a great memory.

Our choir tour times were filled with various one liners and jokes as we made our way through various southern states and Russia singing. We memorized over 35 pages of a Bach motet for that Russia tour! Dr. Price and Barbara were like parents to those of us in choir. They found time to come to the Halloween parties, call us personally in times of trouble, and loved on us with fuzzies! Singing in AC is one of my most favorite and most cherished times of my life. I hope that many more experience AC with the level of joy and love that my family and I have.”

 

11157943_760771037366_264763710_n